I’ve just came back from the first script-read for USProductions; and for some strange, inexplicable reason, I’m giddy with excitement right now. Before I went for the read, I changed my lock screen to a picture of Couch (although before that, my lock screen was already one of the promotional pictures leading up to Melancholy) because in a dorky sort of way, I wanted them to be with me at the start of a new production.

I think I was the only idiot who was beaming like a light-house (what a terrible analogy) just now when they were outlining the time-line for the next few months, and how crazy the few weeks before production day will be. Probably disconcerted one of the directors because he kept shooting weird looks in my direction, because I literally couldn’t keep the smile off my face. I miss that rush of busy productivity; or that weird high that permeates the days counting down to production; I can’t wait for rehearsals that will stretch on till too late into the night; or find interesting shades of vibrancy in the script, create these worlds again.

Maybe I’m placing too many hopes on this production (because honestly, all these gushy feelings are coming from the loveliest time I’ve had with Players and Couch), but then again, it’s theatre. And as the days go by, I’m more and more sure of how much I want it to be a part of my future.

