The other day, I was trying to explain to Dory why I love Rent so much. It remains my favourite musical of all time, even if I feel like I’m a fake fan for only listening to the movie soundtrack instead of the Broadway version.

Perhaps it’s because it’s the first musical I’ve properly watched; or because it seemed so cool~ to know of/listen to Rent in Secondary 2. Maybe!

Even explaining its plot was difficult enough: “Uh… Rent is well, it’s about… It doesn’t really have a plot or anything actually. It’s just about these bunch of people and their lives, and some of them are gay and some have Aids.”

But it’s also so much more than that. It’s about friendship and loss, anger and love, desperation and hope.

At the risk of sounding incredibly incredibly corny, I think that’s why I love Rent so much: the music gets you through anything. It reminds you (or well, me) that no matter how dark a situation is, how hopeless, something beautiful can (and will?) emerge out of it; to celebrate and revel in the lighter, happier moments in life, even if you know that the possibility of loss and hurt lurks around the corner.

And on that note, I leave you with these lyrics, which I feel perhaps capture what Rent is all about:
There is no future, there is no past
I live this moment as my last.

